Sven says:

Many kinds of thoughts coming up

Why be simple when you can be so beautifully complicated?

with 2 comments

John Hannah:  – Don’t think I haven’t called you. I haven’t not called you. I don’t  mean I haven’t NOT called you, because that is a double negative, so it is to say “I HAVE called you”.
Gwyneth Paltrow: – When did you call?
John Hannah: – I did
n’t.

From the film “Sliding Doors”, 1998.

Written by svensays

March 7, 2008 at 21:58

Posted in film

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sven, are you of Swiss extraction? I am curious to find out more about the expression you have used to name this thread. It speaks to the more subtle, sarcastic humour of the whole of Europe, or at least so I have heard… Please correspond!

    Brendan

    July 28, 2008 at 03:34

  2. Hi Brendan! No, I am a total Swede. But you have a point, since the saying was originally in German: “Warum es einfach machen, wenn man es so schön komplizieren kann?” Who said this originally I can’t trace, but it is a traditional mockery of German philosophy.

    svensays

    July 28, 2008 at 10:26


Leave a Reply

