Sven says:

Many kinds of thoughts coming up

Having finished “Rob Roy”

with 2 comments

The real Robert Roy McGregor ended his life in peace, although there had been so much violence around him. The film starring Liam Neeson is about other episodes from his life than those in Walter Scott’s novel. The novel is somewhat difficult to read because of the Scottish dialect. I like to hear it spoken, but reading it in transcription not that much. I leave the last word to Andrew Fairservice, the worthy countryman:

Our ain reek’s better than other folk’s fire.

Our own smoke is better than the fire of others. There is no place like home.  It is Friday night, and soon I will put my TV on to watch the crime series  “Taggart” – from Scotland!

Written by svensays

October 16, 2009 at 18:07

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Although the adage amazes me a tad more than it shld, kudoos, you put this up well-I may add!

    chewmysambhar

    October 17, 2009 at 16:48

  2. Thank you very much, Archana. I started my Walter Scott reading with Ivanhoe, only because I found it very cheap in a charity shop, and I certainly will go on to some more of his.

    svensays

    October 17, 2009 at 20:33


Leave a Reply

