Sven says:

Many kinds of thoughts coming up

Once Below A Time

leave a comment »

Let’s go away from Westminster then, time will show how much the change is worth, and into the landscape of imagination. At my daily commuting travel I carry with me the volume of collected poems by Dylan Thomas. I read one or a couple of poems on every tour. Beautiful but unintelligible. I understand any word, I grasp the grammar, and still I feel far away from the deeper sense of these writings. I believe I am nearing the borderline of what one as a foreigner can learn of another language by one’s intellect, while all that which you can feel if you have grown up with that language is still beyond. Remember that the poet was very young when he first got attention, and maybe he kept the childish attitude to his language all along?

Written by svensays

May 14, 2010 at 17:06

Posted in Dylan Thomas, poetry

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

